Will Smoking Pot Be a Problem if I Want to Be a Physician?

QofQuimica

Seriously, dude, I think you're overreacting....
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i've been thinking a lot about medical school. i'm a freshman in college and am starting to get my classes in order and everything.

i've been smoking pot for probably a year now. not really every day, but normally 3-5 days a week. since i started college my grades have gone up considerably (from like B's and C's in high school to straight A's), i've been motivated to study all the time, and i've come to like school a lot.

my question is, am i going to run into any problems with smoking pot in the future if this is what i decide i want to do? i would assume a majority of people wouldn't want their doctor to smoke, but if and where does drug testing come into the picture?
You are obviously an intelligent and thoughtful person, which is great. I think you already know that the best thing to do would be to stop smoking pot altogether. As I see it, there are three possible categories of problems that you are likely to run into if you continue to smoke pot:

1. Legal problems. I will be the first to concede that US drug laws are ridiculously draconian, particularly the penalties for people who are users and not sellers. Be that as it may, smoking pot is illegal in this country, and if you get caught and convicted of a drug-related felony, it may seriously jeopardize your opportunity to ever become a physician. As far as I know, most med schools do not give drug tests to medical students right now, but things may be different in several years by the time you are ready to start medical school. Some hospitals have already begun drug testing residents and physicians, so there is a real possibility of being tested and caught at some point in your training.