will post bacc hurt my gpa?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RN wants 2 B MD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've searched this site for anyone in my situation and couldn't find any answers. I've been a nurse for 4 years and working full-time, I recently graduated with my BSN with a 3.95, summa cum laude. I haven't taken any of the pre-med courses or the MCAT. I'm planning to attend a post bacc program (CSUF). I want to make sure that I am making the best decision. Is this the best choice for me? Any suggestions, thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I've searched this site for anyone in my situation and couldn't find any answers. I've been a nurse for 4 years and working full-time, I recently graduated with my BSN with a 3.95, summa cum laude. I haven't taken any of the pre-med courses or the MCAT. I'm planning to attend a post bacc program (CSUF). I want to make sure that I am making the best decision. Is this the best choice for me? Any suggestions, thanks in advance!

If I may be frank, I'm not quite sure what your other choices would even be besides attending a postbac, if you want to go to med school.

newmansown - thanks. I've read some posts saying Not to get into postbacc programs since not very many get really great grades due to the class load. My other option would be to take the pre-med courses on my own.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you plan on working during your post-bacc? The only way I would do a formal post-bacc is if they have some stats on how many of there students got accepted into med school or if they have a linkage program. I'm not familiar with CSUF, so I can't say anything about their quality.