Will my MCAT score last long enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheMightyBoosh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a 3.17 GPA from a top 20 university. I'm studying to take the MCAT in September. If I get an awesome score I'll apply to an SMP for next fall (while hopefully taking additional post-bacc classes this fall if I can get into a local program).

Will my MCAT score last long enough to get me into medical school through this route?

Members don't see this ad.

Depends if you do 1 or 2 yr SMP, and if you apply while/before beginning the program or if you wait until you're done. Hypothetically for a 1-year:

9/2010 (MCAT)
11/2010 (Apply to SMP)
6/2011 (Apply to Med)
9/2011 (Begin SMP)
6/2011 (Complete SMP) (Med acceptance or Reapply)
9/2011 (Begin Med if accepted 1st round)
9/2012 (Begin Med if accepted 2nd round)

Most schools accept MCAT scores for 3yrs, you should be fine as long as you don't dilly-dally.

Assume you have 3 years before your score is expired, and be vigilant about noticing whether the schools to which you'll apply expire scores faster than that. If your test date is Sept 2010, then a June 2012 app is very safe, and a June 2013 app is mostly safe.

I ran the numbers on this recently: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showpost.php?p=9404186&postcount=7

Members don't see this ad :)
Depends if you do 1 or 2 yr SMP, and if you apply while/before beginning the program or if you wait until you're done. Hypothetically for a 1-year:

9/2010 (MCAT)
11/2010 (Apply to SMP)
6/2011 (Apply to Med)
9/2011 (Begin SMP)
6/2011 (Complete SMP) (Med acceptance or Reapply)
9/2011 (Begin Med if accepted 1st round)
9/2012 (Begin Med if accepted 2nd round)

Most schools accept MCAT scores for 3yrs, you should be fine as long as you don't dilly-dally.

Thanks!

If I'm not mistaken, I think you meant...

6/2012 (Complete SMP) (Med acceptance or Reapply)