Will my literature publication be meaningful to my medical school application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dionysusofhealth

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I appreciate it!

Currently, I'm a freshman, and I recently published some literature research I did in high school which I tweaked and perfected in college and became published in a journal. So I was just wondering: how would this publication look to medical schools considering that it is non-scientific and such?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I appreciate it!

Currently, I'm a freshman, and I recently published some literature research I did in high school which I tweaked and perfected in college and became published in a journal. So I was just wondering: how would this publication look to medical schools considering that it is non-scientific and such?

Thanks!
I am interested, if you don’t mind, may I read the publication?

I, too, am attempting to submit a publication as an undergraduate in the facet of environmental medicine and ethics. It’s simple survey research, but I would be interested in reading your publication as a fellow premed for insights.

It is not a "publication" like research findings are "publications" but you might want to list it as "research" outside the realm of the sciences.

How is it not a publication? It’s presumably peer reviewed, indexed and goes in a journal?

How is it not a publication? It’s presumably peer reviewed, indexed and goes in a journal?
It is not a report of a research endeavor that involved a testable hypothesis with intro, methods, results, discussion, conclusion. That's what med school adcoms are usually expecting when they see something in the work/activities section that is labeled "publication".

Reactions: 1 users