Medical Will my ECs be good by the beginning of next cycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I completed my undergraduate degree this past August and am currently hoping to apply to medical school this upcoming cycle (as of now I’m leaning MD-PhD programs specifically). I’m currently in the midst of an internal debate as to whether or not I will be a solid applicant this coming June and am debating pushing an application back a year. Some advice on the matter would be marvelous.

I’m ORM with a degree in psychology. In terms of pure stats I feel relatively confident with a 518 on the MCAT and a 3.97 GPA (3.93 sGPA). Beyond this, however, I become very hesitant. The majority of my time as an undergraduate was spent doing research.

-1200+ hours over 3 years to an autism lab yielding no posters or presentations
- 250 hours over a summer working on a behavioral task of osteoarthritis which yielded a poster.
-30 hours assisting with the implementation of patient surveys as a tool for physicians and subsequently examining their potential use in detecting adverse effects of medications (ongoing)

Concern #1) My primary lab was a start-up lab, I was actually the first person to join after the PI. The first two years were essentially setting up the lab and running pilot experiments. The third year I was able to independently contribute towards a project and am currently wrestling with trying to draft a manuscript. Is this an acceptable justification for a lack of published works?

To date, my clinical experience and volunteering time is sparse.

-50 hours ED volunteer
-40 hours shadowing family medicine, pediatric genetics, and psychiatry doctors (plan to get some rheumatology time in there at some point)
-25 hours tutoring low income child with ASD and ADHD (ongoing)
-45 hours providing produce to individuals at risk for food insecurity (ongoing)