Will I even get into post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pengdori626

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

It's my first post ever at SDN, so please kindly redirect me if I ever make mistakes. I'd be thrilled to hear from various people on this site. And I apologize in advance for the long post, I feel like I needed to provide some details to get an accurate feedback.

A little about me, I graduated from a mid-tier UC in June 2017; I switched to pre-med from chemistry -> undecided getting ready for chem engineering/music double major (although it mostly consisted of engineering courses). I decided to switch to pre-med the beginning of second year. But the same year I started to work while taking classes, and I focused more on finishing in four years rather than getting good grades. Even after graduation there were other family/finance related issues so I was just busy working. Took up a researching job plus other jobs completely unrelated to medicine, such as piano tutoring and taekwondo instructor, worked weekends, nights, etc.

My very last quarter before graduation I ended strongly with a 3.86 gpa with 22 quarter units (only 1 non-science course), but overall is 3.16. Interestingly, my science gpa is slightly higher (by 0.02) than cGPA. This probably has to do with me taking whatever G.E.'s I'm able to get a passing score by putting in as least work as possible. I'm an idiot.