Medical Will a subpar GPA freshman year hurt my chances?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman at a T-20 school and based on the trajectory of my grades this semester I'll be ending the semester with a 3.5-3.7 GPA (low-high estimates, but more likely on the lower side) with little chance of something above this. While this seems like a not-so-horrible GPA, I'd think, considering how competitive my school is, I will be starting my life as a college student outside of the top 25% of my class and I'll be severely disadvantaged when being considered for jobs, positions, internships, programs, etc. when compared to my peers. Online learning has been super tough for me and I've been going through a sort of rough patch so I'm hoping that I'll be able to pull myself together for the future when things return to normal, but then again I'm worried about the fact that things will only be harder from here on out. In the main class that's pulling me down (a 200-level science class, to give you a basic idea of the difficulty and subject), there have been rampant allegations of cheating because the (otherwise amazing) professor has been unwilling to institute measures to curtail potential cheaters and has even doubled the time we get on exams (which make up our entire grade) because of the online nature, although of course these are only unproven allegations and he won't adjust grades or anything on such a basis even though the curves on the tests have been absolutely outrageous.