Will a second Bachelor's help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Youngbuc23

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to pre-optometry, and was hoping to get some insight on becoming as competitive as I can. I already have a Bachelor's but it didn't require me to take any of the prereqs required for optometry school, so I am currently back in school getting a second bachelor's, this time in Chemistry with a minor Biology. This is all new to me and it's been 4-6 years since I have had anything math or science related, so i'm somewhat struggling right now and don't feel like I'm off to a great start. I'm also working for a private practice, and am an officer in the Army National Guard so my time and energy is very limited. Anyways, my questions are:

1. Would a second degree, (first one is in criminal justice), help make me more competitive?
2. What GPA should I absolutely shoot for?
3. Are optometry schools military friendly?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, welcome to pre-optometry!

To answer your questions:

1. Optometry schools don't require any specific major/degree and I don't think they discriminate against certain majors. I believe that as long as you get your pre-requisites done, then it doesn't matter how you got there, whether you did it through community college, as a minor, etc. A second degree would be more of a talking point in an interview most likely. Like why not go into criminal justice as your original major was, etc. Things to that nature. If money and tuition is not a worry for you, a second degree can be another way to get your pre-requisites done, or you can just take the classes accordingly at a reputable institution