will a DWI keep me from being accepted?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mckensel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So like it says i just got a DWI a week ago. I am currently in my finishing up my dual degree in my undergrad in kinesiology and biology. I have a 3.4 gpa with a 3.5 gpa in sciences. I have yet to take the MCAT but i have already started studying for it to take it next year around this time. I plan as well to take a few prep classes ect.. the practice tests i have taken i have all been around the 25-27 range. So hopefully within the year ill be able to improve that score. My main question is will this lapse in judgement keep me from attaining a goal i have had sense i was a freshman in high school. I have no priors, no speeding tickets nothing. this was the first time i have been in trouble and it was a mistake. Will i still have a chance at getting in or do i just need to bite the bullet and admit i have screwed myself out of any type of Medical job. Also i dont know if this matters or not but it is not a felony in my state. If you have any insight at all on my type of situation that would be wonderful to help calm my nerves and to help me get my head back on level track to figure out what i need to do from here on out. Thanks

Mac

Members don't see this ad.

It won't stop your acceptance into schools, but it will be a big negative on the application.

It will, however, keep you from occupying the "people I respect" area of my brain.

Good luck, and grow up.

Thank you for your response, and i am sorry that the area in your brain in which titles you to respect someone degrades a person on a one time mistake in which many people in this country have made the same exact mistake i have made(including US presidents). Either way thank you for response.

Mac

Members don't see this ad :)