Wife is a Pediatric ENT, If I Join the Army Through the HPSP How does that Affect Her Career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PAinMotion

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the title above. I am an older premed student starting next fall. My wife is a fellowship trained Peds ENT. I have always wanted to join the Army, and I am looking at the HPSP as a good way to stay in the green during med school. (Prior to this time I was the primary earner in the house with a good salary, and I have a hard time taking all that debt especially with she just getting started as an attending)

If I do this, can you give me some idea about what kind of limitations ( or opportunities) this would bring up for her career?

She likely would want to stay civilian. We want to have kids in the next year too.

Thanks for the insight.

Members don't see this ad.

As the title above. I am an older premed student starting next fall. My wife is a fellowship trained Peds ENT. I have always wanted to join the Army, and I am looking at the HPSP as a good way to stay in the green during med school. (Prior to this time I was the primary earner in the house with a good salary, and I have a hard time taking all that debt especially with she just getting started as an attending)

If I do this, can you give me some idea about what kind of limitations ( or opportunities) this would bring up for her career?

She likely would want to stay civilian. We want to have kids in the next year too.

Thanks for the insight.

Well she wouldn't have a problem finding PRN work or possible staff positions in most VA's, but it wouldn't be for pediatric ENT though. Most likely she could find a job as an ENT in most postings you would go to for your career or possibly do contract work for the DOD as an ENT. the problem would be if she wanted to go with you she would changing jobs every couple of years unless she could always line up a federal job.