Wich brand of microscope to get? Which comes with a better imaging system

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ineses

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am just starting out and I'd like to obtain a personal microscope for surgical path work. Zeiss, Nikon or Olympus? Which model do you think is the best? Any pearls from your personal experience? What are the things that I should look out for before I commit to a purchase?

I would like the microscope to also be connected to an imaging system so that I can snap some pictures. Should I just get a connector from the rep and get the relevant model of digital camera to attach to the microscope whenever I want to snap a picture or should I get a proper digital imaging system?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I use an Olympus and prefer it over the Nikons in the department. My scope is better suited to large individuals, like myself. IMHO Nikon has a tendency to cram the buttons and controls too close to each other, which makes driving a little challenging for me. Someone with more delicate limbs may prefer Nikon.

I haven't used many Zeiss models, but the have a reputation of being the Porsche of scopes. They are finely crafted and expensive, perhaps to the point of being overkill for most users. My PhD advisor had a monstrous Zeiss, which cost >100K, and he used it for all sorts of exotic purposes.

Can't help you on the digital imaging front. Sorry.

Zeiss or Leica. Going to cost though.

Members don't see this ad :)
Zeiss and Leica were once truly the finest scopes, both optically and mechanically( Maybe about 20 years ago).

But in recent years Olympus and Nikon have definetely overtaken them in optical, mechanical, electrical and ergonomic quality.

I believe that Leica is now made primarily in China.

Get the best objectives you can afford - Olympus with planApo's