Why is Pharmacy so Underrated in India ?!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

khanguls

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone !

This question i wanted to ask everyone for a long time.

I am also a Pharmacist completed my Degree in 2000 worked as a Production officer in Manufacturing - Liquids for close to 3 years and then called it Quits cause i was not getting any where ( financially ) i joined a call centre and currently getting paid well also i am handling Sites in India which never happened when i was there in the Pharmacy field.

Pharmacy as a basic degree does not have any value in India.

I think the major reason which i noticed is that cheap labour that we get here in India. As a Production officer in Pharmaceutical field they would even hire a BSc grad getting paid the same amount as a Pharmacist though we would get the FDA approvals faster then the other Science Graduates however eventually they would also get the approval and they would always stick to these jobs. One collegue i had asked this question he said what difference does it make to me i have a decent salary and my house is near and approx Zero Maintainence cost for commuting and etc... why should i not take this Job. sounds weird but i got that answer.

Me being a girl worked on Shopfloor no one was ready to take me they wanted me to move to Quality Assurance or Control but i wanted to work in Production.

i would really love to hear inputs from all.

i was also a active member in Pharmacy council Mumbai to check if there were Pharmacist being employed in all Pharmacy stores well to my horror i also found that all the wonderful ladies were working somewhere else and for a petty amount of 2-3K had their liecense given to these stores unmonitored by Pharmacist." This Happens only in India "

Members don't see this ad.