why is getting a paid RA position so difficult?!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

velvsop

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i've been trying for the past 4 months to find a paid RA position in a field related to clinical psychology, with no luck. in that time i've been able to get involved as a volunteer in a couple of labs- one being a neuroimaging project and the other being a mood disorders lab, but i am not getting an offer from other applications.

i applied to a perfect RA job and i found out there were 80 applicants. 80!!

i am a fairly recent college graduate in psychobiology and English from UCLA, and i didn't participate in research in college, which i am majorly regretting.

but i am really REALLY interested in going to a top, funded research PhD program, and i feel like i have what it takes to succeed. i don't have the financial means to go to a nonfunded PsyD/PhD. it is just frustrating me that the fact that i can't secure an RA position is what will keep me back.

or will it?? any thoughts GREATLY appreciated..

Members don't see this ad.

I would speculate that your lack of experience in research is hurting you here. Most former psych majors applying for these jobs are the "research hound" types who probably got alot of exposure and experience in undergrad. You should expand the range of setting and places your applying to, as academic med centers are always going to be competitive for these jobs. Non academic places do research to. VA hospitals also have alot of RAs and tend to be slightly less competitive than academic med centers. Voluntering somewhere in hopes of getting experience and/or getting your foot in the door for being brought on board as a paid employee at a later date.