why is dentistry "more popular"?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emericana

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not trying to be a troll... I am currently applying to Pod schools (no dental or med schools) because I want to be a pod. Great experiences shadowing and am excited to get to do surgery one day if I can get in (keeping fingers crossed!).

But.... it is much more competitive to get into dental school than pod school.

I am curious as to why this is?

Is it because podiatry is much less known than dentistry? (I personally did not hear of podiatry until two years after I graduated undergrad).

Or is it because people think that feet are stinky/gross? (I personally would much much rather look at peoples feet all day than stare into their mouths... so much that while I did consider MD/DO I never even considered DMD).

From what I gather the pay is similar if not a little better for pods... so it cant be money?

Anyone?

Members don't see this ad.

Not trying to be a troll... I am currently applying to Pod schools (no dental or med schools) because I want to be a pod. Great experiences shadowing and am excited to get to do surgery one day if I can get in (keeping fingers crossed!).

Is it because podiatry is much less known than dentistry? (I personally did not hear of podiatry until two years after I graduated undergrad).

Or is it because people think that feet are stinky/gross? (I personally would much much rather look at peoples feet all day than stare into their mouths... so much that while I did consider MD/DO I never even considered DMD).

From what I gather the pay is similar if not a little better for pods... so it cant be money?

Anyone?

I think you pretty much hit the main points...

1) not as popular/smaller profession. There are lots of dental schools.
2) feet gross LOTS of people out (I get asked all the time why I want to work with feet)