Why does afterload decrease during acute mitral regurgitation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JJArms22

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not very good at cardio physiology and I haven't been able to figure this out. What exactly causes the decreased afterload during acute MR? I know it eventually increases but I have no idea what the mechanism is for the acute stage.

Members don't see this ad.

Haven't reviewed cardio yet but less effective ejection from LV means less pressure in the aorta until you get compensation by abnormal filling pressures?

Reactions: 1 user
So after load is basically the pressure required for the LV to expel the blood or the pressure that the LV "see's" in systole if you will. Generally this is largely determined by the TPR. However in mitral regurg you have an open valve and the blood can exit out the open mitral valve thus creating an route of lesser resistance. So you have blood going out the mitral valve that is lower pressure and some blood going out the aorta at normal pressure so the Afterload that the LV effectively "see's" is lower than normal.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
So after load is basically the pressure required for the LV to expel the blood or the pressure that the LV "see's" in systole if you will. Generally this is largely determined by the TPR. However in mitral regurg you have an open valve and the blood can exit out the open mitral valve thus creating an route of lesser resistance. So you have blood going out the mitral valve that is lower pressure and some blood going out the aorta at normal pressure so the Afterload that the LV effectively "see's" is lower than normal.

So basically the fact that you have less blood in the ventricle means less resistance to pump against?

Members don't see this ad :)