This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr.cfull

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A brief background,

I graduated from a top public university with a 3.5 gpa in biochemistry and 510 MCAT. I was a very successful student athlete there (three time all american, pac 12 champion, olympic trials finalist etc.). I graduated in 2016 and took a gap-year to ensure my application was set to go (CNA experiences with over 250 hours of volunteer, worked at my university medical center, did research at a local hospital, lots of community service, coaching and leadership positions, team captain etc.). I got 2 interviews with state schools which I thought went extremely well but was rejected at both. After that and receiving feedback, I published research, presented on the podium at a national conference, volunteered a ton, did ski patrol, emt, etc.

Second application cycle I applied to 21 MD schools and again only 2 interviews at state schools. Got waitlisted at one but rejected at the other. I understand my GPA is a little low but holy crap I thought this was a holistic process?? I have really great letters of rec and seem to check every box. Schools even told me my personal statement was very strong. I am ORM but I really didn't think it would be THIS hard with what I've done.

I know for a fact that my interview skills are not bad at all. Im a very personable guy from what I've been told and I love being social. I prepared very thoroughly for each interview (5 mock interviews with feedback) and I am just so confused why I'm not getting in.

Im getting really discouraged because idk what to do this next time around. Im planning on an SMP to help with GPA but even then I don't feel confident anymore.

I'd appreciate some guidance or words of encouragement!! haha

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Perhaps call some of the schools and ask for feedback on reapplying, or what areas you were struggling in.