Whining...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

umza

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so here is the deal. I'm an external resident working ped intern rotation.
July 1st, I show up for orientation, just a few hours. But they are short a resident, in fact the resident that is on call that night. They ask us on our first day, can you stay and do call tonight? All say no, but me, I said, well I have a child at home, I will have to make arrangements. They said, if you can work July 1 call then you will only have to do one more weekend this month and the fella that missed today will do your other weekend. So, I make arrangements, and I come in at 5 when my husband gets home. I work all night and write 15 notes in the morning, then go home after rounds.

Senior comes to me and says the other resident can't work your saturday, he's got NRP, like I care about that. So now he works my friday and I am stuck working three weekends in a row.

Worse yet, our period is only 25 days long. and we only work 1 in 4 call or less, by contract. Well I am scheduled for 7 calls in 25 days and the others on my service have only five calls.

Tell me, what did I do wrong by volunteering to help them out?
Am I very, very stupid? gullible?
I am disputing this shift, mostly on principle, that I don't like getting screwed over. Unfortunately, the people in the program that I am a guest at are pissed that I would have the gall, be so incredibly selfish, rude, or otherwise self centered that I would dare to tally other's call shifts, count my own call shifts or even dare to have a life that may require my attention away from their service.