Which surgical sub-specialty is for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Calizboosted76

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I was recently accepted to a DO school this cycle and wanted to make this post.

While I realize this is premature and I should not be worrying about what specialty I want to go into as of yet however I am very interested in surgery.

I have a pretty good backstory with neurosurgery and would love to match NS (I had a craniectomy when I was 5 due to chiari malformation and this is what caused me to go into medicine). I know that neurosurgery is going to be a stretch because I am attending an osteopathic school.

That brings me to my question of what surgical specialty would allow me to operate and make a difference and also be able to have clinic and build relationships with patients.

I have shadowed NS, ortho, plastics, and some other specialties. I also work as an ED scribe right now and I know that I would like to be in the OR but also have clinic as well. I was looking into GS but IDK. I want variety, OR, and relationships with my future patients.

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. I know that I will see more on rotations, however I want to sort of look into other specialties prior to doing rotations so I have some type of idea.

Members don't see this ad.

What exactly do you mean by clinic? Basically every surgical specialty has clinic. If you're talking about having a lot of clinic or that surgery/medicine mix, I'd look into ENT, uro, ophtho, and GS.

I think you also have to think about what kind of pathology, cases, and outcomes get you going. Whatever field has the bread and butter (most common cases) that you'd be excited/happy to do, I'd focus on that, because you will likely spend most of your time doing those procedures.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)