This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spikebd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,
Been a member for awhile now and I've gotten lots of good advice from here over the years, and now I'm looking for some more feedback. Im a 3rd year DO student stuck between a few specialties. I have a top 3 or 4, but can't commit to any single specialty yet. Step 1 >245, COMLEX low 600's, other than that pretty solid student but not a superstar or anything. I do get good feedback from my attendings too. I'm aiming for specialties that do procedures and enjoy the OR. With all of the ACGME AOA merger stuff going on I worry about how many AOA spots will be left. Anyhow, I'll run through some of my top choices.

IR-I enjoy the technology, the chance to consult on patients and be an expert in a field. There is a nice variety of vascular and oncology work seems fun to me as well. I have pretty limited exposure to this field though, and I haven't looked into the DIRECT pathway much.

Anesthesia- I like the OR and really enjoy watching patients get sedated. Had the chance to intubate patients during my surgery rotation and it was pretty thrilling for me. I enjoy physio and pharm as well as some anatomy they need to know for regional blocks. The early morning hours really appeals to me as well. Day to day I could see myself really enjoying anesthesia. The only cons are a lot of the SDN anesthesia guys scare med students away from it due to the business environment.

Ortho- I enjoy reductions, fractures, the radiology, the quick fixes. The bread and butter ortho appeals to me more than general surgery (knee scopes, hip fractures, arthritis). The huge downside for me is it's ultra competitive and I really don't want to SOAP. Plus I'm worried a lot of AOA programs will get shut down in the merger making it even more competitive.