Which route to go.. Nurse/NP,PA,MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arekusu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while, and figured I'd ask my question to people who have maybe thought the same thing or been in the same situation.

Ok, I'm 24, single, been in the military for 6 years now and have 2 to go.

I have my associates degree done and working on my bachelors now in what discipline now, I'm undecided.

I'd like to pursue a career in medicine I think. (I was a CNA for a few years before I joined the military, getting my feet wet for the ground work). But right now I'm having difficulty deciding on which route to take. (I know I ultimately need to do some shadowing but I'm looking for a "what might make most sense")

So I've been thinking about Nursing with a step towards NP, being a PA, or a MD.

With any of the choices, I'd like to go back into the military and finish my time towards retirement (I'm almost half way there). Unless for some reason I completely change my mind.

For the MD route, residency can be completed while being active duty, correct? Which cuts down the total time without pay.

For the nursing part, if I get my degree finished in whatever, I have prerequisites to do and I can apply for a accelerated program.

As for PA, I can apply to if I have my Bac. finished.. only thing that bothers me is that NP can now prescribe where PA's cant, and NP's can practice on there own while PA's cant.. and I've been hearing a lot of and reading a lot of complaints that PA's get second guessed a lot by nurses.. This I don't understand because PA's and NP's are almost the same thing (other than what I wrote about above) as they are both intermediate / mid level providers.