Which foreign vet school do you recommend?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bigned

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a registered nurse interested in becoming a Vet. I assume I would stand a much greater chance of acceptance if I focused on a foreign school. I have NOT taken Organic chem or math based physics. Are these subjects REQUIRED for admission to foreign vet schools?
How difficult is it to get accepted into a foreign vet school? How long is it? Finally, how difficult/long does it take to be able to come back to the U.S.A. and practice? Any replies would be kindly appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

International schools are just as difficult to get into and take just as long to complete ( I assume if you are in the U.S. you are talking schools such as those in Canada, Scotland, etc). They aren't "easier". Nope,no loopholes in that respect, there is no fast-track or easy button, unfortunately. Requirements vary by school - most if not all will require things like O-Chem and physics

Reactions: 1 user
And please carefully consider this. Veterinary school is an enormous time commitment and financial commitment. You seem to have been jumping around from being set on being a dentists, nurse practitioner, etc all within the past few months. Take some time and really settle on what you want to do.

How much, if any, clinical experience do you have? Any large animal or specialty clinic work? Research, volunteer, shelter work, etc? Such things are also essential not only to truly gauge your interest and figure out if this is what you want to do, but is necessary (usually req'd around a minimum of a couple hundred hours logged, plus letters of recommendations from people in the veterinary field) for veterinary school application.

Members don't see this ad :)