where will i be in 10 years?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jim Henderson

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've come accross this question a lot in secondaries and I was just wondering whether or not you could give me some insight into how the track for a primary care family physician works. I realize that you have 3 years of residency after medical school, but then what? Where do you go from there? If I work in a hospital, what should I expect to be? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

The term "primary care" is a broad one. Generally, it refers to the fields of family medicine, pediatrics, and ob/gyn. Generally, the specialties of family medicine and pediatrics are 3 year residencies. OB/gyn is usually 4. If you do fellowships, you can tack on a year or two, but most people don't.
There are many options available in primary care:
1. Most typically, the doctor works in a community setting and has clinic and inpatients. This applies to all of the fields mentioned above.

2. You can end up teaching, either in a university medical school setting, a university-based residency setting, or a community based residency setting.

Finally, you can end up "specializing" in primary care, which I guess is an oxymoron. But for example, in family medicine you can specialize in geriatrics, hospice, sports medicine, academic medicine, etc.

So where will you be in 10 years? Who knows? Any of the above and possibly more as things emerge in the next 10 years. Good luck on your journey!

Jim Henderson, MD of Medicalstudent.net

Bump!!!!

So where are you? Now that 10 years has passed?

Members don't see this ad :)
Did this guy have a multiple personalities?

Weird. Sounds like this guy helped start SDN, (he only has ~400 posts), then he decided to quit medicine after 7 years.