Where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

andrewe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to SDN as a member and I just joined as we are entering the 2017 application cycle! I go to the University of Miami (originally from New Jersey) and I am a double major in biology and economics with a minor in chemistry. I have a short preliminary list of schools I am thinking of applying to, but would like more recommendations in terms of dreams, on target, and "safety" schools. I have a 3.98 GPA and a 518 MCAT with good involvement, over 200 hours of shadowing, a former research position, and several leadership roles. So far, my list is as follows (sorry, I am somewhat of a geography snob):

University of Washington
Oregon Health and Science
UCSF
UC Denver
Wisconsin
Northwestern
Indiana
Einstein
Robert Wood Johnson
New Jersey Medical School
Sidney Kimmel
Harvard
NYU
Mount Sinai
Cornell
University of Miami

Members don't see this ad.

Get MSAR and get rid of those schools who heavily favor IS applicants. I'm sure there's people on here who could give you better specific advice, but that's what I can see right off the bat. I would also post this in the general pre-allo forum, not the 2016-17 school-specific, you'll get more people seeing this.

Good luck! Interview well, and you'll have a pretty good chance!

How significant was the research and leadership positions.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'd get rid of UW and OHSU, they seem to only like students from that region.

What about Temple, Drexel and USF (even the SELECT program w/ Lehigh Valley Hospital - it's in Allentown, which is halfway between NY and Philly and is a great area/program)?

Sent from my iPad using SDN mobile app

Hi Guys, I have a similar question. With the following GPA, extra curricular and research what are my chances of getting accepted to US Medical Schools?