where does a 1st-year student begin?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bunker_hill

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd like to start by thanking Andrew for all the helpful posts. I'm a first year med student, beginning classes in Boston next month. The ophth FAQ's page was very helpful. I'm trying to assess how soon I need to start thinking about and acting upon a career in ophthalmology. Should I be looking into a research position for the summer of '05? I think I'll have my hands full with intro classes during my first year (I've been working as an electrical engineer for 3 years). After reviewing the residency match poll data on this forum, I get the impression there is no magical formula for obtaining a top-choice match. Any advice for a 1st year student, potentially leaning towards ophthamology?

Also, Andrew, on the FAQ's page you mentioned "The Academy also publishes an introductory book for medical students." Can you tell me the title of this book? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I've tried looking on Amazon and can't find the book for sale. I'll check the library when I return to Iowa City.

I think it's never too early to start looking into reseach projects. The summer between 1st and 2nd year is a great time to participate in research as a medical student.

Good luck!