Where do I go from a bad semester?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ashashbobash

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Sophomore. This semester I started off taking Calc 1, Chem 1, and Bio 2 with labs. I ended up withdrawing from Calc. Over half the class failed the first exam and it was just a mess. I thought could manage through Chem 1 without hs / intro to Chem. This was a big mistake, and I'm going to take intro to Chem over the summer to stregthen my background. I might be able to pull a "B" by the skin of my teeth, but Im not sure (also got a "B" in lab). I have an "A" in Bio and lab. Anyway, my GPA's sitting at a 3.5 and my sGPA's a 3.0, before this semester's grades are final. What should I do to recover? Do you think it's worth it to retake a science course you got a "B" in? Are the classes I had at the beginning of the semester an average workload for pre-vet? Sorry this is all over the place.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm a Sophomore. This semester I started off taking Calc 1, Chem 1, and Bio 2 with labs. I ended up withdrawing from Calc. Over half the class failed the first exam and it was just a mess. I thought could manage through Chem 1 without hs / intro to Chem. This was a big mistake, and I'm going to take intro to Chem over the summer to stregthen my background. I might be able to pull a "B" by the skin of my teeth, but Im not sure (also got a "B" in lab). I have an "A" in Bio and lab. Anyway, my GPA's sitting at a 3.5 and my sGPA's a 3.0, before this semester's grades are final. What should I do to recover? Do you think it's worth it to retake a science course you got a "B" in? Are the classes I had at the beginning of the semester an average workload for pre-vet? Sorry this is all over the place.
You have plenty of time to get your GPA up. If you’re truly worried, apply at the end of your senior year. That’s actually what tons of people are doing now.