General Where can I get Clinical Volunteering?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Question

Member Question
Volunteer Staff
Reaction score
Hi I am a sophomore undergrad pre-med student. 1) I am wondering what is the best way to get clinical volunteering hours? 2) Is volunteering at surgery helpdesk in a major hospital considered clinical volunteering as you are helping getting patients to the OR? 3)- Is International volunteering in Europe or other countries considered bad as you have to pay to volunteer/Voluntour ??

— Experts please respond to this post —

Members don't see this ad.

Hi I am a sophomore undergrad pre-med student. 1) I am wondering what is the best way to get clinical volunteering hours?
Not all clinical volunteering has to be in a hospital. Try clinics, Planned Parenthood, hospice, camps for sick kids, nursing homes,
2) Is volunteering at surgery helpdesk in a major hospital considered clinical volunteering as you are helping getting patients to the OR?
Yes
3)- Is International volunteering in Europe or other countries considered bad as you have to pay to volunteer/Voluntour ??

— Experts please respond to this post —
Yup. Medical tourism

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, that may be clinical if you are directly interacting with patients. IMO, the best clinical experiences are those in which you are seeing what doctors do. For example, working as a scribe is great cause not only do you get to shadow, but you are learning how to document AND getting great clinical experience.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi I am a sophomore undergrad pre-med student. 1) I am wondering what is the best way to get clinical volunteering hours? 2) Is volunteering at surgery helpdesk in a major hospital considered clinical volunteering as you are helping getting patients to the OR?
Not all volunteering needs to be in a hospital. Think hospice, Planned Parenthood, nursing homes, rehab facilities, crisis hotlines, camps for sick children, or clinics.