when to write step 2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ceeepz

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey,

i'm a canadian md student going into third year. just wondering when most american students write step2? at the end of 3rd year? i'm guessing you want the score in before you apply for residency positions, am i right?

by the time we are done third year, we have completed: peds, internal, obs/gyne, surgery, anesthesia, psych, rural family med

will this be sufficient rotations to pass the exam after third year? because in 4th we will hit emerg, geriatrics, urban family med. should i do these rotations then write the exam?

what rotations have most american med students finished prior to writing step2?

also, do you guys get time off to study for step2? if so, how much time off?

thanks for your help all!

confused canadian

Members don't see this ad.

What is your schools requirements? Are you required to to graduate? Otherwise you can take it your 4th year at the end, although I recommend taking it earlier in case you fail it.

Actually, most people don't take Step 2 in time for residency applications. It's the opposite. If you are happy with your Step 1 score, it's actually common to take Step 2 later during Year 4 so that you don't risk getting a low Step 2 score.

In general, I think the clerkships everyone has done by the time they take Step 2 include: Peds, OB/GYN, Medicine, Surgery, Psych, Family Medicine. Depending on the clerkships required by your school, you might have done Neurology, Emergency Medicine, Anesthesia as well.

At my school, it is up to ourselves how much time we schedule to study, if any at all. Some people just schedule an easy rotation and study during that time.

what if one has surgery as their last rotation in 3rd year and they need to show a good step 2 score before applying to the US?