When to take the PCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goheel

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a entering freshman this fall, and I wonder when should be the best time to take the PCAT. I figure I will take all of them from now til when I apply for pharmacy school, which is 3 times I think. As far as science courses, I'm taking the 1st semester of chemistry this fall. I don't know if that will prepare me enough for the test on january. I do plan to take the 2nd of semester of chemistry in the spring, and either biology or the 1st semester of organic chemistry. Which is better to take to prepare for the PCAT? biology or organic chem? Hope I'm not confusing you guys. Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Do not take the PCAT until you have completed two semesters of general chemistry, two semesters of biology and at least a month of organic chemistry. There is no sense taking the test before you are prepared.

Some schools look at the number of times that you took the test. A good score the first time will look better than someone who had to take the test 3 times to get an equivalent score.

You should be taking both chemistry and biology your freshman year, not just chemistry.

I do realize that I need to as much chemistry and biology as possible to take the PCAT, but as far as I know, I only have 3 chances to take it. I intend to apply for pharmacy schools in the fall of 2004, so I figure there will be 3 dates for PCAT from now until then. If I want to begin pharmacy school in the fall of 2005, I need to apply in the fall of 2004, right? Sorry, I'm a newbie.