when to take the GRE's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

staythecourse

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my final semester at my community college before i transfer to SDSU to get my BS....

I was thinking of buying the Kaplan 2008 book/cd-rom GRE guide to work on over the summer that i have off...

Is it normal to attempt the test this early in the game?

-thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I think the only thing that matters is some schools won't accept GRE scores older than a certain number of years. For most (I think) it's around 5 years, but for some I think I've seen the cut off at scores that are taken more than 3 years earlier. You might also want to factor in the fact that people sometimes have to apply more than once before they get into vet school and give yourself a little buffer there. No one likes taking the GRE multiple times if they can avoid it. You could also check to see what the schools you're interested in do regarding GRE cut offs, but you may not know your list of vet schools yet, so that might be hard.

But other than being aware of cut off dates, I don't think there'd be any problem.

I took my GREs the summer before my junior year of college - the year before I applied to vet school. I preferred to do it this way because if I got a crappy score I could retake it, but there would be no pressure for time. Also, I pretty much had a year to decide what vet schools to apply to knowing that my GRE wouldn't be the limiting factor. So I'd say go for it!

Members don't see this ad :)
I think you are well within the time frame to take the GRE. Take it and knock it out early. That way if you don't knock it out, you will have a better idea of what to expect and will be more comfortable for the next try.