When should I apply for the next cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pmoney

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year dental student and considering taking the Army scholarship for the next 3 years of school.

With all the weakening economy and all, I understand things begin to tighten up vs the past where it was relatively easy to get involved with HPSP.

One of my fellow classmates applied in March of this year (for this cycle) and he and his recruiter both dragged their feet but he recently just got a decision and has to decide to take it or not. That was Navy. I talked to an older student who is in HSCP (prior service) and he was saying things are filling up really quick now.

I had planned on seeing how things went in school and applying in March or so, but it appears that will be pretty late for next year's cycle.

I will be contacting a recruiter soon, but I was wondering if anyone could give me any heads up regarding this issue. Now if I get the paperwork started and somehow it gets approved say in early part of next year, how long would I have to make a final decision?

Would I be considered a less qualified applicant since I'm taking a 3 year scholarship vs 4 year folks? I assume an eyesight waiver (correctable to 20/20, just uncorrected is not good would be available? As far as the summer stints are concerned, I'd be doing one summer OBC for 6 weeks, and then 2 more summer sessions for 6 weeks - even though the last one would be served after I had graduated?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a first year dental student and considering taking the Army scholarship for the next 3 years of school.

With all the weakening economy and all, I understand things begin to tighten up vs the past where it was relatively easy to get involved with HPSP.