When did walgreens become bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doubletwenty

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I heard Walgreens used to be a good company. But how many years did it take until it became really bad?

Members don't see this ad.

I’ve heard it’s when the Walgreens family sold.

Reactions: 1 user
I graduated a decade ago and it was already the "absolutely never" job of last resort when I was in school.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Oh wow. Sounds like it started becoming bad around 2010 then.

You're asking the question thinking they were ever good.

For much of the modern period, this was the reason.

• Wow
Reactions: 4 users
All retail pharmacy went downhill starting in 2007ish when they couldn't expand anymore. There used to be tons of bodies in the pharmacy just like in a McDonald's or Chick-a-filet. The great recession sealed the deal for the point of no return. Since then it's just been cutting hours every year.

All retail pharmacy went downhill starting in 2007ish when they couldn't expand anymore. There used to be tons of bodies in the pharmacy just like in a McDonald's or Chick-a-filet. The great recession sealed the deal for the point of no return. Since then it's just been cutting hours every year.
what mcdonalds do you go to??? I went to one by my house and the damn ice cream machine was broken- I counted 3 workers, so I walked next door to Chic-fil-a - I counted 16 behind the counter.

what mcdonalds do you go to??? I went to one by my house and the damn ice cream machine was broken- I counted 3 workers, so I walked next door to Chic-fil-a - I counted 16 behind the counter.
Agreed, same here. Worth noting the massive service level difference between the two.

As a person who worked for them between 2009 to 2022, I’d say it was around 2017 was when it became obvious that the company’s ship was not sailing in the right direction