when a good time for cards research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reventon2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year med student with a strong interest in cardiology. however, i'm an average student from an average school not likely going to get into a top tier IM program...realistically a mid to low tier program. I'm debating if taking a year off between my 3rd and 4th year would help me in the long run. I think getting a few abstracts, maybe a publictation might help in the long run.
How does a research year help getting into IM and cardiology?

Your feedback is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 3rd year med student with a strong interest in cardiology. however, i'm an average student from an average school not likely going to get into a top tier IM program...realistically a mid to low tier program. I'm debating if taking a year off between my 3rd and 4th year would help me in the long run. I think getting a few abstracts, maybe a publictation might help in the long run.
How does a research year help getting into IM and cardiology?

Your feedback is appreciated.

Before I give my advice, I just want to let you know that I am an IMG and did not do medical school here.
I think it is a very good idea to take a year off to do research in med school. There is a huge incubation period after conducting research and actual publication. So by the time you are applying for cardiology, you will have publications to show.
Also, doing research now will increase your chances of getting into a very good academic IM residency that I think is one of the biggest factors during fellowship selection process.
Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)