Whats the average age for US grad when then enter 1st year of Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smashingdude

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Just curious. We do 6 years of MD back in my med school, and before that was 2 years of Alevels, so I graduated med school at age of 25. Now it will take at least 2 years to clear all the USMLE exams, and hopefully/god-willing, I'll enter in 2015 match. I'll be 27 at the time I apply for the match, and when the results come out, I'll be a few months away from 28.

So whats the average age when US grad's match into a residency position? I think I am a bit old to start residency compared to US grads.

Members don't see this ad.

27/28 Is absolutely not significantly older then US students.

If an American student went straight from undergraduate college through medical school most would be around age 26 when they started residency. However many either take longer to finish college or take some time off between college and medical school. This the average starting age for residency tends to be in the late 20s although there is a wide range. You have nothing to worry about.

I went straight through. HS->undergrad->MS->residency. Will be a 29 year old attending next july. And I am the youngest that I know of. Your fine. My roommates were 24,26,29 when we started med school.

I also have 2 co-residents who are In their 40s.

I was slightly younger than the average med American med student, and I'll be starting residency a month before I turn 28. Many people are well into their 30s. 25-26 is definitely on the young end of the spectrum.

I start residency at 30. Spending 5 years in my 20s living life was the best decision I ever made.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm currently 25 and about start my PGY-2 year in residency. I was 25 as an intern and just recently turned 25