What's next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunny10

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

If anybody could give me some practical advice, I'd be very grateful.

I hold a masters degree in Clinical Psychology. Right now I have a very good job, but I feel I can only do so much before I get whistled back to let the experts in. I run into barrieres because I do not have a phd or a license to practice. It's seems I 'just' have a masters degree. I'm ready to be that expert ;-).

So, I'm ready to move on. But there is an obstacle. My husband is militairy so I don't get to choose where we live and therefore where to apply. So, a phd or psyd seems out of the question for now.

I want to get licensed, but which program is closest to a masters degree in clinical psychology, which options do I have?

greetings Sunny

Members don't see this ad.

Have you considered a clinical MSW (masters in social work)? If you do a clinical 2-year program (whoa, typed 20 there at first, oops), and then take a licensing test, you will have the license to practice, much like a Ph.D. practicioner, with some limits (e.g. psychometric assessments, etc).

Yes, I have considered this.

I have contacted licensing boards, universities, etc. and they've advised me to go for licensing as a profesional counselor. I gues this program is closed to clinical psychology masters degree?

If I wanted to go for a MSW, do you think I will be exempt for certain courses? Is there a program like this online?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not really sure regarding the classes, and as far as I know, there are no MSW online courses (a huge part of it is fieldwork). Why do you think they suggested being licensed as a counselor?