What's a competitive cardiology fellowship applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnHt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys

I am a medical student (MS1) in the Northeast interested in cardiology. I am wondering though, what credentials make a competitive applicant for cardio fellowship program?

I mean, is research experience something you need to have? some publication maybe?
Do most applicants have alpha omega alpha? Amazing grade?

I also heard that a good internal medicine program will also help in getting a cardio fellowship. Is it hard and fast rule that the internal medicine residency that you're coming from must be a university program instead of community one?

What other credentials that makes a successful applicants to cardiology fellowship?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
1. Aim for AOA if possible - this will help you get to number 2.
2. Go to a well known/prominent residency program.
3. Get good evals and letters from said residency program.
4. Do cool research that you can talk about at said residency program - you don't need to publish necessarily.
5. Be nice.

How about boards scores? What's the average scores for those who got acceptance?

Members don't see this ad :)
A significant number of cards fellowships don't even want you to submit board scores and so they must not care about them. Other programs do want them and do care about them. Ideally you'd like at least average USMLE scores, and if you can get above average, like 230s, 240's or more, that's gravy. Remember, this is still an IM fellowship - you're not talking about people applying to plastics or derm so there aren't that many people who got 260 on the USMLE I don't think. If you're thinking of applying to Harvard and UCSF, that's probably a different ball of wax.