what to do during time off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redbookfan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd yr med student and I need to take time off (~5-6 months) some time in the next academic yr. Are there any suggestions as to what I should do during this time off to make myself a more competitive applicant for psychiatry residencies? Is research the way or to go? Or international health volunteer work? Medical spanish? Any suggestions? What extracurriculars do psychiatry residencies like to see? I've done community service in the 1st 2 yrs of med school but I've done no research during med school. Do they really like research? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 3rd yr med student and I need to take time off (~5-6 months) some time in the next academic yr. Are there any suggestions as to what I should do during this time off to make myself a more competitive applicant for psychiatry residencies? Is research the way or to go? Or international health volunteer work? Medical spanish? Any suggestions? What extracurriculars do psychiatry residencies like to see? I've done community service in the 1st 2 yrs of med school but I've done no research during med school. Do they really like research? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated!

Don't do research unless you're planning to do a lot of research in residency/early career and want to demonstrate that you can, that you are committed to research. What little that can be done in 5-6 months is not at all likely to impress "them", and unless it is something that is going to spark your desire to build a research based career, is pretty much not necessary as resume-padding to get into most psych residencies.

Don't do anything because you think "They" want to see it. Do the things that scream "This is who I am and who I want to be".