What to do between graduation and residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FAMUPharmD09

Pharm.D.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know the easy answer is study for the NAPLEX and MPJE, but should I work as a grad intern and make some money for a couple of months until residency or just study and relax before residency starts?

Members don't see this ad.

My plan is to take the Naplex as soon as allowed, then travel for a month, then come back for my residency. I hope everything will work out as I have to buy my plane ticket months in advance. I have the rest of my life to work. That will probably be my last "summer of freedom"

Last edited:
I only have 2 weeks between the end of rotations and graduation. I may make a trip to wherever I'm going to find a place to live. I will also work, work, work, work, and then work a little more. We're trying to see if they can hire me on as a casual pool pharmacist as the hospital where I work does not have a graduate intern position and I would make real pharmacist moneys even before I took the naplex.

Members don't see this ad :)
My recommendation: take a break! Unless you're REALLY hurting for money, take advantage of your last few days off. Study a bit, take your exams, go on a vacation. You won't regret it, especially when you're up to your ears in projects wishing you could take a weekend off.

Iinterviewed 8 places. So between hotels, airfare, car rentals, food - well, I refuse to add up those expenses. I'm just stimulating American Express.

But I seriously have no money at this point. I was hoping to take a trip to Africa to visit my best friend but again, no money. And I don't know if I have enough time to make it worth it.