What stereotypes apply to UCLA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

R_C_Hutchinson

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
so im an undergrad bruin, and i hear plenty of things from east coasters about how they view UCB, stanford etc.
just out of blind curiosity, what does everyone think/have heard about UCLA?
I personally love this school, but i'd like to know the kind of preconceptions people may have about me or my school if i go and interview at an east coast school.
don't worry, i wont get mad; good or bad, i'm dying to hear it

Members don't see this ad.

UCLA conjures up images of dumb jocks who never go to class (as with any other big state school), and rich girls who take acting classes in hopes that they'll make it big in Hollywood someday.

i got the same impression when i toured and then turned them down for undergrad... but med school is very different i'm sure. LA conjures this image in general though, not really me but it might be good for you.... and it is just a stereotype of course.

Members don't see this ad :)
Mmmmm... UCLA girls... *drool*

UCLA is a very very large school so of course you have a wide representation of people. And not all of them will be science nerds.

Originally posted by TTSD
And not all of them will be science nerds. [/B]

but most of them will be.

I went to undergrad at UCLA and now I work at the hospital. the hospital is number 3 in the nation. UCLA is extremely competitive now as far as undergrads, and a lot of graduate programs are in the top ten, as well.

That being said, if this whole med school thing doesn't work out, I'm gonna take my blonde self to Hollywood an be an actor.

lol, j/k

UCLA is the finest school in the country and in the world and in history. Its medical admissions committee is one of the worst, however.