What should I start on as a Sophomore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ahris

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am very new here and I know I need to get started on Medical requirements. Here are my stats so far:

College: NYU
GPA: 3.1
Volunteer Work: 0
Shadowing: 0
Interns: 0
MCAT: Didn't take yet.
Race: Egyptian and Japanese (Does it count for affirmative action? I am put as black on my birth certificate, though I look very light skinned)
EDIT: I am majoring in Computer Science and Pre-Medicine.
EDIT: Also from a low income family and first generation in America.

So, I applied for volunteer at Cornell Medical Center and applied to 2 interns at NYU Langone Medical Center(one research and another just intern) over the summer(did not get any response from Cornell or NYU yet). Do you guys know what other things I should work on?

Like my goal is to become a doctor, perhaps a surgeon. So far leaning more towards Orthopedic but can go cardiologist as well. The reason i want to become a doctor is because I like interacting with people and to help them out when they need it. The job is also very respectable and also looks very admirable. If I am given the opportunity to volunteer to help people in Myamar, Syria, or any of the suffering countries out there(maybe not for my entire life, but as far as I can handle), I will try to help them out.

With these thoughts in mind, I have researched for a couple of other internships over Summer, but I want to know what you experienced people know will work best for my acceptance into medical school. Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: