What should I be doing now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flowerbug

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore attending a duel credit high school. My high school grades are all A's and I am 4th in my class right now out of about 75 I think. I've taken kinesiology and speech so far and made A's and i'm taking psychology right now and i'm making a B+, but I still need to take the final and she still needs to grade an essay. There aren't a lot of animal science or earth science type classes because its a community college. What kind of classes should I take? I want to be a wildlife biologist or a wildlife veterinarian. I volunteer with a group that advocates against tobacco also so will that look fine on a resume? I am also trying to volunteer with an animal rehab center. They get a lot of sea turtles and beach type birds I think. Will that be good? I am also part of student council so i'm wondering if that'll look good also like on a college resume. I really want to know what I should be doing now to get into a good college for wildlife biology, advice would be nice :)

by the way im trying to get a liberal art degree by the time I graduate, and i have about 8 empty slots for any extra classes I want to take

Members don't see this ad.

These sound like questions for your guidance counselor and/or school advisor. If you want to go to veterinary school, start looking into the prerequisite courses as they'll likely be similar starting out for wildlife biology as veterinary medicine. Definitely get some experience in vet med and wildlife bio/ecology as well as other fields to help you decide which path to pursue. Frankly, you still have plenty of time.

Reactions: 2 users