What school to pick?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blitzkreig

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a grade 12 student in Ontario wanting to get into medicine. I have a really good gpa but am confused as to what school to get into to do my undergrad. I am planning to do my undergrad in medical sciences at western. But i was reading in one of the threads that its better to get into a low ranked school to boost up your gpa. But doesnt the reputation of the school matter too? Could someone suggest some common undergrad degrees that would help medicine and also some schools? thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

First, what you've heard is correct: go somewhere where you can earn a high GPA. Many schools in Ontario have GPA cutoffs that are strictly numerical and do not take your undergrad school into account. Pick a school that is close to friends/family and where you can have a good time (all while getting a solid education of course), it doesn't have to be a big name (just not a community college). Rankings mean NOTHING, especially in Canada.

Regarding your major, as wild as this sounds, I would advise you to NOT major in medical sciences, unless it something you are really passionate about. I would say that you can be passionate about medicine, major in philosophy/arts/social science/business/whatever interests you most, and that will actually increase your chances of standing out come application time to med school. Every Tom Dick and Harry who applies is a Bachelor of Science with honours major with a 3.9+ GPA and high MCAT score (with research experience). I promise- stand out from the crowd and your life will be a hell of a lot easier, it worked for me :)