what is the ideal age to start pt school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTtoB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
what do you guys think is the ideal age to start pt school?

Members don't see this ad.

I was discussing this with a friend just last night - we both regret that we didn't realize we wanted to do PT earlier and wish we had enrolled in a program right after graduation. For reference, I graduated from undergrad in 2011 and he graduated in 2009. However, we both also realized that we weren't near ready for PT school when we were graduating undergrad. It's just not where we were in our lives. I think the ideal age to start PT school is really just whenever you're ready. We had no interest in going to graduate school when we were 21, enrolling then would have been a horrible idea. Earlier would have been better, but the motivation and desire has to be there.

Although I am not in a PT program at this minute, I think that you need to be at an age where you are mature enough to make this big of a decision. Whether you are 21 or older, you need to make sure it is
what you want to commit to for the next 3 years. Second, I feel that you must enjoy school to some degree if you absolutely hated your undergrad and couldnt wait to graduate, then going right into PT might not
be the smartest idea.

Members don't see this ad :)
There honestly is no ideal age. If you know you want to do it at 17, then try your best to get accepted as early as possible. If you decided you want to do PT at 45, then do your best to try to get accepted early as possible. I didn't pick a major until I was 23 in college, then took my pre reqs and started PT school at 25.