What is the benefit of going to the "best residency program" you can get into? I am potentially thinking about taking a research year to achieve this

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CuriousMDStudent

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Title sums it up. First question is straight forward: What is the benefit of getting into the "best residency program" you can get into? The second question is: Should I take a research year to optimize my chances at getting into the "best residency program" I can get into?

Background on me: I am a second-year medical student at a T15 medical school. I will be applying to medical school during STEP 1 P/F. Due to this, there is a higher emphasis on my clerkship grades, STEP 2 score, research, and LORs. I am interested in orthopedics surgery.

During my first year, I got involved in 7 research projects.
- 2 of which have been written up and are being submitted.
- 3 of which have data collection completed and are being submitted.
- 1 which has data still being collected.
- 1 which is a long-term project which will be done by around 3rd year.

I feel that my first year wasn't the best academically. I was around average but slightly below average. This was due to adjusting to medical school, moving to a new city, feeling lost in life and covid mostly. I passed everything (thankfully it's true p/f) and feel like I have adjusted to medical school and feel more certain of what target is which is to become an orthopedic surgeon.