What is normal etiquette after completing an externship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canyonman

UGA CVM c/o 2022
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year vet student and will be starting clinical rotations next semester. I was curious what the normal "etiquette" or follow-up after an externship is? Do most people send a thank you email or letter to the practice? Or do nothing? I did one externship this past summer and sent them a card in the mail, thanking them for hosting me and teaching me, etc etc. I'm just curious if that's the norm and to see what other people do.

Members don't see this ad.

For my 4 week long externship this last summer, I brought donuts for the whole staff the last day. I verbally expressed my gratitude when we went over my evaluation form as well. Nothing too fancy.

Reactions: 2 users
I always brought a thank you card to write out and give them on the last day, and if I spent time with a lot of techs/assistants I would also spend like $5 to pick up a container or two of cookies from the grocery store the morning of the last day.

This is totally not required but I also splurged and gave a slightly more personalized gift to two of the places I went because I really hit it off with doctors mentoring me at those two locations, and I was planning to apply for a job at both. One doctor told me he always semi-jokingly asks for a case of beer for putting up with the students and no one had ever given him one, so I got him a 6 mix pack of beers which he was super excited about. The other place, my cat wine bottle collection came up in convo at some point and one of them mentioned she really wanted one/loves that type of wine, so I got her a bottle of that, and got the other doctor a halloween themed gift (her fave holiday and it was coming up soon after my externship).