What experience do I need?

ztamm14

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I’m a Sophomore in High School. I’m pretty smart I think, 4.1 GPA with all A’s which I’m not worried about.

It’s the experience that I’m worried about. So in the summer I signed up for Havard MedScience, which was a week of shadowing, meeting and listening to doctors and other researchers at MGH and Brigham and Women’s. But since that, I’ve read online of people shadowing for over 200 hours? I only shadowed doctors for 2 days!
What type of experience in internships, shadowing, and research should I be trying to get as I’m in high school? Please don’t tell me not to worry about this now, because I know in 3 and then again in 7 years I’ll be regretting not doing something sooner when it comes to experience in Medicine.

And how do I find doctors to shadow? Is there a website? Can anyone give me tips on where or how I would go about finding a doctor to shadow, who isn’t my private practice pediatrician? Do I absolutely need to shadow doctors in this setting? If not, what other type of experience should I be gaining?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Don't post your name (even if its just your first).

Serious answer: focus your free time on something unrelated to medicine while you are in high school. Most medical schools don’t want to hear about experiences gained in high school. They only request info from College and beyond. What you want to avoid is falling into the cookie-cutter mold that many premeds fit. High school is a great opportunity to try out hobbies that will make you unique and set you apart. More and more, med school applicants are coming across as “check box applicants” whose applications are more or less identical.

Feel free to PM me if you have more questions. I’m a high school teacher who will be starting medical school in the fall. Good luck!

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)