What does my score need to be???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SOUNDMAN

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok first post so go easy on me :). I'm currently a physician assistant in practice. I'm planning on applying to med school (allopathic) for 2005. Taking the MCAT in August. PA school was post bacc obviously. I did very well with 3.8-3.9 cumulative. However my undergrad was like 3.0 before PA school. What do you think I will need to score on the MCAT in order to get into medschool? Just curious...

SOUND

Members don't see this ad.

ROFL....thanks for the seriousness...LOL...

Any ideas or just a ball park what it might need to be. I just want to see if I'm thinking along the lines of everyone else. Thanks again.

Each school is different....you can find the score averages by entering the
desired med school in this site's SEARCH. However, I think the scores are
a bit higher than what they list...for instance, UVA lists their average as much lower than what they tell you in person....average mcat at UVA is now 33.

Members don't see this ad :)
it really does depend on the personal statement and 2ndary. The process is kinda like a card game soo it depends on how you play your cards. Apply early and to lots of schools and assuming all is well, I think 28 a will not really hinder you from a lot of schools and maybe a 27 (that maybe pushin it with the 3.0)

my two cents

That's the question of the [insert time here]

No way to tell. I've read schools that say they've turned away 4.0/35+ applicants based on the rest of the app. Don't know if it's true or not...

I have a 3.3ish GPA with a 3.0ish science. I scored a 11/11/10 the last time (9 years ago). Took a prep course and my diags were better after much hard studying, so I'm hoping that those numbers and a great military career will be enough for Uniformed Services University to want me as a student.

MoosePilot said: