What does it REALLY take?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmnfive

7+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
well after my hiatus from school, a careful review of my transcripts, this is what i have come across.

i have allot of Repeated Classes, Odd number of W's -- well too many (like 5 or 6 i think).... is it too late for me to get into a cali school?

im a non traditional, worked, travled around, studied in different states for short periods and.. now im back home. ..and im 22 and im just starting out the pre-med curriculum. (well seriously anyways) i still have to take some BCPM classes. and my mcat. i suppose this is all in all wishful thinking if i do WELL on my mcat. but i think -- rather pray to hope -- that if i studied well enough i know i can rape that test (knock on wood) but again i do have allot of repeats --- and allot of W's .....

so probably the best i could do with my marks, all in all.. would prob be a 3.5 or so overall GPA and the highest GPA for science would be like a 3.7 i could get right now. this is if i get STRAIGHT A's for the next 2 years of my remaining undergraduate career.

im not a bio or chem or science major ( im philosphy ) ... and the thing is ... those who have the 3.5 to 3.7 GPAs and have been accepted are those who are in harder majors like engineering and chem / natural sciences.. etc... so yeah im a bit concerned.

im asking... do cali schools filter out GPA first ? or MCAT? ive heard different stories supported either side of the arguement. i suppose i could goto a DO school.

i dont know. i dont wanna give up. i seriously wanna take this all the way through and give it my best.

could anyone offer any ideas, rants, suggestions, advice?

thanks everyone. :love:

Members don't see this ad.