What do you recommend for MS4 RE: USMLE step 3?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docbill

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I am a 4th year MD student and just finished my CK exam a month ago and still waiting for results. I am wondering if you guys / gals have suggestions about preparing for Step 3.

I would like to do it after I finish med school and prior to starting residency. I figure might as well get it out of the way since I have 2 months before residency starts (if I match).

What should I use to study. UWorld during 4th year?
Any negatives of doing Step 3 at the end of 4th year?
Any negatives if I fail it prior or just as I starting residency?

Thanks for the feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

You may want to see what the requirements of your state are. In Michigan, you are required to have completed 6 months of residency in order to sit for step 3. Check fsmb.org site for specifics on your state.

Also, you can not apply for step 3 until after you have graduated medical school. Apparently applications that are received prior to your graduation date are/may be rejected.

You may want to see what the requirements of your state are. In Michigan, you are required to have completed 6 months of residency in order to sit for step 3. Check fsmb.org site for specifics on your state.

Also, you can not apply for step 3 until after you have graduated medical school. Apparently applications that are received prior to your graduation date are/may be rejected.

Yes. But you can register under a state that does not have a residency requirement.

Also I can sit the exam after graduation, and just before I start residency. The goal is to study for it months in advance in order to get it done early and not have to worry about it in Internship year.

Any negatives of doing Step 3 at the end of 4th year?

Thanks for the feedback.