What courses should I be taking in high school/college? + A lot of other questions

SociopathicMoose

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman in high school with a 3.6 GPA, and I'm hoping to work in emergency medicine or become a trauma surgeon one day.

Correct me if I'm wrong. Colleges look at high school. Med school looks at college

This is my plan for grades 10-12

Grade 10

• Pre-AP English 2
  • Pre-AP Geometry
  • Pre-AP Chemistry
  • AP-World History
  • Spanish 2
  • PE
  • Principles of Health
Grade 11
  • AP-English 3
  • Pre-AP Algebra 2
  • AP-Biology
  • AP-US History
  • Medical Terminology
  • Health Science Th... (it doesn't tell me the rest of the name)
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
Grade 12
  • AP-Economics
  • AP-English 4
  • Pre-AP Calculus
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • AP-U.S Government
  • Practicum in Health/Extended Practicum in Health
(My grammar sucks you've been warned)

Here comes a barrage of questions

Assuming I hold a good or above average GPA, what kind of colleges will these classes get me into?
Which of these classes do you think is just added stress?
Should I take the "added stress" classes to help prepare me for college?
What classes should I change?
Is it a good idea to be taking these med courses to get a general idea of what I'm going to be doing?
How many colleges should I apply to?
What are some good colleges?
What GPA should I aim for?
What College classes should I take?
Which classes should I focus on more than others
Once in med school, what is the path to work in emergency medicine;trauma surgeon.
How long will each part of the "path" take?
What are the most critical parts in my journey from high school to becoming a certified (insert choice here).

Members don't see this ad.