what can i do to stay competitive for residency or pharmacy job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tmac01

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering what i can still do to stay competitive for a job in pharmacy or residency. I graduated last year, however, I expect to get licensed at the end of this year but i do not currently have a job in a pharmacy related field. I have a part-time job though and I was wondering if there were such things as journal clubs (although I have looked and can not find any) or if volunteering at a hospital or such would be beneficial.

If anyone has any other ideas I would be glad to hear it.
I was wondering if the fact that I have been working is a decent enough use of my time when employers or preceptors would like to know what I have been doing since graduation.

Members don't see this ad.

Why haven't you gotten licensed yet? To be honest residencies likely won't give you a chance if you graduated last year and haven't been working in a pharmacy related field. I would get licensed as soon as possible and look for something in pharmacy

What are you doing? That would be a huge red flag to me. If you look at the stats, people who are not new grads have a lower % of matching. People wonder WTF you've been doing. I would not consider you as a candidate because I would be worried that you have no follow-through, no resourcefulness, no ambition. None of that may be true but you get a quick glance and that is how it would look. Sorry.